Reading skincare product information

Can You Compare Skincare Ingredient Concentrations From a Label?

Read two actual moisturizer ingredient lists to see why a shared ingredient’s position does not reveal its percentage.

PublishedOctober 2026Consultation planning guide

Use this guide to organize questions for a consultation. It does not recommend a treatment or provide personal medical advice.

An ingredient’s position is not its percentage

An ingredient list alone usually cannot tell you which of two skincare products contains more of a shared ingredient. It shows disclosed ingredient names and generally their order of predominance within that product, with exceptions. It is not a table of percentages. Finding an ingredient third in one list and fourth in another does not establish which product contains more of it. That distinction matters when you are comparing a proposed skincare purchase. A concentration comparison needs information about amounts. A difference in list position supplies a different kind of information. The two current moisturizer examples below show the gap without guessing either formula.

Read two actual moisturizer lists side by side

We checked the official US product pages for Biologique Recherche Crème VG Derm and Crème Hydravit’S on October 26, 2026. Both pages have an Ingredients section. The short excerpts below stop after glycerin; they are not the complete lists. KMHCS names Biologique Recherche on its skincare service page. These examples illustrate published product information from that brand. They do not establish that KMHCS currently stocks, recommends or uses either specific product.

Original reading of two manufacturer ingredient lists; percentages were not stated in either list
Official product pageBeginning of the displayed ingredient listGlycerin’s positionGlycerin percentage stated?
Crème VG DermWater (Aqua), Propylene Glycol, GlycerinThirdNo
Crème Hydravit’SWater (Aqua), Propylene Glycol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, GlycerinFourthNo

Biologique Recherche: Crème VG Derm ingredient list → · Biologique Recherche: Crème Hydravit’S ingredient list →

Why third versus fourth does not answer “which has more?”

Each position belongs to its own product’s list. A third-place ingredient in one product is ordered among that product’s other ingredients; a fourth-place ingredient in another is ordered among a different set. Neither position supplies a shared numerical scale for the two products. In this comparison, the observable result is that both lists name glycerin and place it differently. The unanswered question is the amount of glycerin in each. The lists do not show that the percentages are equal, and they do not show that one is higher. Counting positions cannot supply either conclusion. This is an information comparison, not a head-to-head product test. We have not measured the formulas, assessed their performance or ranked which one a person should buy.

The ordering rule has important limits

The FDA’s Cosmetics Labeling Guide describes the general order as descending predominance. It also permits ingredients present at 1% or less to appear in any order after ingredients present at more than 1%. Color additives have a separate ordering exception. In its worked example, the FDA explains that ingredient concentrations do not have to be declared. These rules help explain why a list should not be read as a percentage chart. They do not identify a 1% boundary in either example above. We have not determined which listed ingredients fall above or below that threshold. A highlighted ingredient in a product description likewise supplies no numerical amount unless an amount is actually disclosed.

FDA Cosmetics Labeling Guide: ingredient declaration and order of predominance →

Use the exact, current product information before buying

Start with the exact product name and the current packaging, rather than a shortened name or an older online description. Biologique Recherche notes that its ingredient lists are updated regularly and directs readers to the list on the packaging. A saved web page and the product in hand should therefore be checked as distinct information sources. If a proposed purchase depends on a concentration claim, ask where that amount is stated. If it is not disclosed, keep the comparison unresolved rather than replacing the missing number with a list position. You can also ask what the proposed product is intended to add to your current routine. Neither the clinic nor a manufacturer should be assumed to provide a proprietary percentage that has not been published. This guide answers how to read the available information. It does not provide personal product-selection or use instructions.

Check the current Crème VG Derm packaging notice → · Check the current Crème Hydravit’S packaging notice →

Skincare product guidance at KMHCS

KMHCS offers Skin Routine Review and in-office skincare purchasing at its Lancaster clinic, serving Palmdale and the Antelope Valley. Its current skincare page describes reviewing products already in a routine and discussing the practical plan. Use that service information or Contact page to ask about a routine review, the exact product information behind a recommendation and current availability. The manufacturer examples here are not an inventory or price list.

Read KMHCS skincare product and routine-review information → · Contact KMHCS about current product information →

Sources and Further Reading

Useful next pages if you want to compare options, prepare questions, or review the relevant KMHCS service before calling.

Related next step

When you're ready, use the service pages to compare options or reach out for a more specific conversation.

Clinic details

KMHCS is located in Lancaster and serves Palmdale and Antelope Valley patients.

Address
767 W Lancaster Blvd, Lancaster, CA 93534
Hours
Monday-Friday: 8:30am - 12:30pm, 1:30pm - 5:30pm

Need a clearer next step?

Review the clinic pages or contact the team if you'd like to talk through options in a calm, consultation-first way.